top of page

Game Box Design – Ultimate Significant Features

Updated: Dec 10, 2021

Board games are one of my favorite pastimes. To be honest, I am not very good at them! But I am fascinated by practically every aspect of a board game. I play them, learn about them, develop them, and put them on the shelves. That last one took a long time for me. It is not always for the best reasons. Sometimes all I care about is figuring out what is inside the package.


I have bought games based on their packaging and disliked them. I have passed up a game due to the packaging, only to discover later that it is fantastic. All of this prompted me to write a letter to game creators, particularly indie devs who are pushing the boundaries of gaming. There will come a time when you will need to create your personalized game box.


I would like to take part in it. I would like to invest in it. However, if it lacks these important elements, I may not even notice it.


Rules Are Rule:

I'm not talking about the full set of rules and regulations for your sophisticated game–although you could probably put it all in a hard two-piece set-up box–some basic gameplay structure is required. Please send me the Powerpoint presentation. A few bullet points to indicate whether it's a bluffing game, a card-passing game, or something else. Perhaps you have a unique/unique/patented gameplay element. Make a show of it! There's lots of room for details in your personalized game box. Make the most of that room!


High-Quality Material:

Figurines, cars, and other elaborately made pieces are among my favorite game features. A good bespoke game box should be built of solid chipboard that may be offset printed or laminated with a press sheet. In either case, the visual quality will be excellent. Show me those one-of-a-kind items. Show me the true size of those parts, if possible. It will provide me with a reference and force me to keep it in my possession.


Board to Death:

Use your unique game box to show me the board while you're at it. Let me have a look at your game's intriguing board, which I'm sure has some turned edge printing you're pleased with. This works well with the actual-sized game piece graphic since it allows me to visualize the game in my mind. Or, more to the point, where it will fit in my game room.


Exterior Design Matters:

Don't let anyone convince you otherwise: the tale matters. Any skilled game designer will tell you that coming up with a game mechanic first and then slapping a theme on top of it is a bad idea. So there's a good chance you've already considered an engaging plot to drive your gameplay. The first chapter of your personalized packaging boxes can be the exterior. On the back of every movie and book is an appealing blurb. One that isn't solely focused on business. Even if I don't understand the mechanics, a compelling story can persuade me to play.


Party Design Boxes:

The most recent game I bought did not explicitly state that it required a minimum of four players. Before I discovered we were short a person, I had the entire thing nearly set up on the table in front of the two other people I share with, ready for an amazing game night. Is that my fault? Maybe a smidgeon. Is this piece, however, missing from your bespoke game box? At the store, the game is over. If the number of players in the game is unclear, your buyer will be irritated. I haven't played the 4-player game yet, and it isn't due to a lack of gaming companions. On the other hand, you can use the player number to promote your game. Games featuring a one-player option are getting increasingly popular, and they deserve a spot on your console.


Print Your Logo:

A game developer is just as vital to the success of a game as a director is to the success of a film. Maybe you're a seasoned game designer with a portfolio of titles under your belt. That is something you should remind your clients about. Or perhaps this is your first time participating in a game. I'm inclined to believe you're established because of your professional brand. A game developer, in any case, requires a logo. Make your customized game box a billboard for your business. (Even if it's just you in the basement of your parents' house!).


All of these pieces are critical, but you may have noticed a pattern. A book is still judged by its cover, and a game is still judged by its box. Don't count on a catchy title to market your game. You're not going to get very far if you rely on word of mouth. A unique game box jam-packed with these important components will set your game out from the pack.

2 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page